Meet the Winners of the 4th edition

Breaking news: EUhackathon winners of the Hack4Participation challenge on how to increase democratic participation in the EU receive 5000 Euro at the European Parliament

After 30 hours of intense coding with only a 4-hour break, it was time for our 41 coders of 11 nationalities to hear from the jury who had won the first prize for the challenge they had taken on only one day before, namely creating tools to increase participation & transparency in the EU. This was done in the European Parliament – prizes being notably handed over by MEP Julia Reda, MEP Andrey Novakov, MEP Brando Benifei, and with the support of MEP Eva Paunova and MEP Marietje Schaake .

All projects will be uploaded to our website, and the winners of this fourth edition of the EUhackathon are:

First Prize: Team Videodock (the Netherlands).
Second Prize: Team Commission Today (Romania/Germany/USA).
Third Prize: Team Frontwise (the Netherlands) .

Read more about the Hack4Participation challenge

Read our Rules and our FAQ

Co-hosts EUhackathon awards ceremony

MEP Eva Paunova (EPP, Bulgaria)

MEP Eva Paunova is the youngest Member of the European Parliament within the European People’s Party (EPP) Group, representing the Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria (GERB). She is a Member of the Internal Market (IMCO) and Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON) Committees and of the Parliament Delegations’ for relations with China and the US. Until her election she was Executive Coordinator of the GERB-EPP Delegation and Senior Policy Advisor in the European Parliament. Previously, she also served as Policy Advisor to former MEP Iliana Ivanova. MEP Paunova’s key interests include innovation & digitalization, SMEs & entrepreneurship and education.


MEP Julia Reda (Greens/EFA, Germany)

MEP Julia Reda is a Member of the European Parliament for the German Piratenpartei within the Greens/EFA political group. Active in the pirates since 2009, she is a founding chairperson of the Young Pirates of Europe and member of the local Frankfurt chapter. MEP Reda wants a free Europe with open borders. For her, this entails the preservation and extension of open communication structures, the relaxation and harmonisation of copyright laws and the opening of European institutions for political participation through transparency. She considers transparency is not only the publication of information, but also the processing in a form that invites for participation. / Photo credit: Tobias M. Eckrich


MEP Marietje Schaake (ALDE, Netherlands)

MEP Marietje Schaake is Member of the European Parliament for the Dutch D66 within the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) political group. Her work focuses on trade, international relations and on technology. She seeks to advance the public interest in the open internet, from ensuring netneutrality, to reforming copyright or related to internet governance. She remains committed to furthering the digital single market. Marietje led the effort to adopt the first ever digital freedom strategy as a part of the EU’s foreign and security policy. She has made use of crowdsourcing during the fight against ACTA.

Click on the relevant day to display the short version of the program, a full version can be found here.

08.00 – 08.30 – Registration at the Google offices

08.30 – 09.30 – Policy & technical presentations

Policy Presentations

Technical Presentations

09.30 – Midnight – Coding

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served to the hackers during the day.

Midnight – 02.00 – Coding

02.00 – 06.00 – Rest time! Hackers are invited to go to their hotel (a 500 m walk) and get some rest. For the brave, WiFi is available for free at the hotel.

06.00 – Re-start coding

11.00  12.30  Side-event

13.30 – 14.30 – Submission deadline / End of coding / Pitch time: Each participant or team will have the opportunity to briefly (max. 5 min.) present the visualisation that was created during the EUhackathon.

14.45 – 16.00 – Jury convenes behind closed doors

16.15 – 18.00 – Awards ceremony in the European Parliament (room 6Q1). The best projects will be presented to the audience and receive an award. This will be followed by a panel discussion.

Breakfast and lunch are served to the hackers during the day.

Location where is the event taking place

The coding will take place from 2 December 8:30 till 3 December 14:30 at the Google offices, Chaussée d’Etterbeek 180, 1040 Brussels, Belgium. EU officials are welcome to drop by, but have to announce themselves as EUhackathon visitor at the reception.

The awards ceremony will take place in the afternoon of 3 December in the European Parliament (room PHS 7C050). People interested in attending should contact us at info[at]euhackathon[dot]eu before Tuesday 26 November CoB as access to the European Parliament requires prior authorization.

Keep in touch follow & like us